-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So You Want to Apply....

02 August, 2012 - Lesson's Learned SF July 2012 season

So You Want to Apply...

I realize this application season is over, but there were a couple of things we ran into this round that I would like to bring to light, without seeming like I'm coaching anyone.

To some of you this will probably seem like common sense - So for you just nod and agree...LOL

FOLLOW DIRECTIONS!

Read exactly what the application requirements are and make sure the application has all blocks checked. Yes, it is work, I realize this, I did it twice before being accepted! But the diligence (or lack thereof) put into an application is going to show.

If it calls for a specific number sample pages, then be sure the application includes a separate link for each page asked for! Giving us the main link is not meeting that requirement. These are supposed to be the best representatives of the comic! Show off the absolute best pages!

If it calls for a minimum number of pages in order to even be eligible be sure that requirement is met! Don't even think the application is going to slide through if there's not enough to represent! It doesn't do the judges any good in trying to determine the quality of the story.

PAY ATTENTION TO DEADLINES!

I realize we all let things slip from our minds, but if there is a deadline for the application be sure the application makes it in before that date (This rather goes back to those checks in the block)! Tardiness is NOT a good attribute when asking to be included into a group, and will probably negatively predispose the people reading.

PROOFREAD!

Proofread the synopsis, "why this would be a good addition," and all other things about the application. This is especially true if the creator is bilingual or multilingual. English is not an easy language, especially the written version of it...so be diligent to ensure the application is passably understandable.

Look for the general tone of the writing - might the application come across as arrogant (As opposed to confident - fine line but it is there), or in some other way turn off those who might read this?

I would recommend someone besides the creator proofread it just to ensure these things are smoothed over. I miss stuff in my writing and art all the time...so having friends do a once over is always a good thing to my mind.

These are highly recommended steps to ensure the application for inclusion is as polished as possible.

Will this ensure a comic's acceptance? Absolutely not...it's just the first step. The story, art, interactivity of the creator and a bunch of other factors are measured and weighed by the members...Ones I've thought to be sho-ins have been declined, one's I've not particularly been interested have made it....

As I said I had to apply twice before the collective would let me through their gates. Those applications were a year and a half apart - let's face it I was a bit upset by my first rejection. So it took a bit to salve that hurt, and realize I really wasn't ready that first time!

Spiderforest was the place I wanted to be though - so many of my webcomicking friends were there and so many more I discovered after acceptance. :D I would not trade my time for any other collective...it's been great.

-

previous | next | latest entry | about me | archives | notes | DiaryLand | contact | random entry |